Basic; Not Dangerous

I am a 23-year-old blue eyed blonde white female. One time, a boy told me I was “basic” and it really hurt my feelings. As a young woman, I feel I have to constantly prove I am knowledgeable. I am questioned even when I have my facts backed up with reliable sources. “You don’t know what you are talking about,” they tell me.

One time, I was hired to do a job because I am a 23-year-old blue eyed blonde white female named “Olivia” and not a 23-year-old brown eyed black female named “LaTonya.” I know this because my [previous] employer had me thumb through resumés to help her decide who she would interview for an available office position. I had very simple instructions: trash any person’s resumé who had a name like “Shaniqua” or “LaTonya,” as she would never hire a black woman because she, “just cannot handle them.”

One time, a police officer pulled me over for going 20mph above the limit in a school zone. I should have received a pricey ticket, but I am a 23-year-old blue eyed blonde white female. He assumed I did not know what I was doing, not that I was dangerous. I was left with a simple verbal warning.

I am writing this blog to say I think it is disgusting how privileged I am. I am disgusted that because of my physical appearances, I have only had to worry about being called “basic.” I have never had to worry about finding work because of my name or race. I have never had to worry about how a cop perceives me.

However, I am also writing this blog to say I will use my privilege to fight for equality. I will use my privilege to educate other privileged people who do not know how easy we have it and let them know when they are discriminating. I will not be quiet when people like Terence Crutcher are labeled as a “bad dude” for their skin color. I will write, I will speak, I will protest, because my life is privileged and I can use that to make a difference.

“Justice will not be served until those who are unaffected are as outraged as those who are.” Benjamin Franklin

Olivia 

Leave a Reply

